DEPARTMENT 60 – DRAFT HORSE AND PONY SHOW

Superintendent: Phil Farrell (217-855-9111)

Open Class Premiums Offered: \$41,005.00

Land of Lincoln Class Premiums Offered: \$710.00

INFORMATION

Entries

Entry Fee is \$30.00 per head. An office fee of \$10.00 per exhibitor is due at the time of entry. Entries in all classes shall be made through the online fair entry system at the Illinois State Fair website. Payment must be made via credit card at the time of entry. No other type of entry will be accepted. Assistance with entries is available at the Competitive Events Office, Monday-Friday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. All entries must be submitted online on or before July 15, 2025. Late entries will be accepted through July 31, 2025, with an additional \$50.00 per head charge assessed. Fees will not be refunded. Exhibitors may scratch entries but may not add entries at check-in. Therefore, please enter all classes correctly.

A stall fee of \$20.00 per horse is also required at the time entries are made. Tack stalls may also be rented for \$20.00 per stall.

Statement to Exhibitors

The Department will make every effort to ensure the safety and acceptable care of animals during the Fair and reserves the right to make any necessary changes to the show or this book to comply with the law. If any changes to the Shows or this book are required, that will be posted on the Illinois State Fair website.

Check-in

Check-in and issue of ring cards will begin at 12:00 p.m., Saturday, August 9. All exhibitors must be checked in by 7:00 a.m. on Sunday, August 10.

Animal Release

Animals shown in halter classes only will be released at 6:00 a.m., Tuesday, August 12. Draft horses and ponies will be released immediately after the show on Tuesday, August 12.

Show Schedule

Show will be held in the Coliseum. Start times may vary slightly from the published schedule. Exhibitors should watch and listen for announcements.

Sunday, August 10

8:00 a.m. – Draft Horse Halter

6:00 p.m. – Illinois Owned Draft Team, Haflinger Team, Mare Unicorn, Draft Horse Six – Geldings, Haflinger Four, Draft Unicorn, Draft Mare Four

Monday, August 11

9:00 a.m. - Haflinger/Pony Halter, Jr. Decorating, Jr./Sr. Showmanship Finals, Draft Jr. Cart

1:00 p.m. – Open Riding – Western, Haflinger Jr. Cart, Farm Team, Country Pleasure Drive, Jr. Team Driver

6:00 p.m. – Draft Horse Four, Belgian Cart Lady, Clydesdale Cart Lady, Percheron Cart Lady, Draft Horse Six – Mares, Haflinger Unicorn, Open Draft Team

Tuesday, August 12

11:00 a.m. – Draft Mare Cart, Haflinger Card Lady, Belgian Cart Man, Percheron Cart Man, Clydesdale Cart Man, Haflinger Cart Man, Open Riding - English

6:00 p.m. – Costume Class, Illinois Owned Four, Mare Team, Haflinger Six, Draft Horse Supreme Six

Department Rules

- 1. Each exhibitor must comply with the Illinois Exhibition Health Requirements; Animal Care, Drug, Testing and Welfare Policies; and General Rules of the Open Horse Division as previously stated.
- 2. The ages of animals will be reckoned from January 1. All foals will be considered as one (1) year old on January 1 of year succeeding birth.
- 3. In all cases, pedigrees of horses must be traceable to the American or Foreign Stud Book for the particular breed in which the animal is registered. All applications for entry of horses or animals of record must be accompanied by the name of the breeder and the name and registration number of the sire and dam of the exhibited animal.
- 4. Registration papers will be inspected at the time of check-in.
- 5. Exhibitors may enter only one (1) entry in a group class. In Produce of Mare and Get-of-Sire classes, animals do not need to be owned by one (1) exhibitor. Further, geldings can be used in Produce of Mare and Get-of-Sire classes.
- 6. Animals shown in group classes must be entered and shown in individual classes.
- 7. Exhibitors are limited to two (2) premiums in single classes and one (1) premium in group classes.
- 8. Substitution may be made within the same class up to the time of check-in.
- 9. Any breed is allowed to show in the Hitch classes, unless designated for a specific breed. Mares, geldings or stallions may show in hitches. All horses and ponies must be decorated in the hitch classes with manes rolled and tails tied.
- 10. Men and ladies cart horse/pony must be a different animal. Junior drivers must have a competent adult on the seat.
- 11. Exhibitors and grooms must be properly attired in show ring; no blue jeans, shorts or T-shirts will be allowed.
- 12. Junior drivers competing in Junior Driving classes are not eligible for Open Driving.
- 13. Each showmanship exhibitor can only compete in one (1) breed division. Junior Showmanship class must be shown with a horse two (2) years old or older.
- 14. Only animals being judged will be allowed in the Coliseum.
- 15. When on exhibition in the ring each animal must be under halter and under the control of the owner or employee, who shall display ring cards to correspond with number in the official program. Any animal that is not being properly controlled by the handler or driver will be immediately excused from the show ring.
- 16. Animals cannot be tied outside of stalls and left unattended.
- 17. Stall areas are to be kept clean and neat. Decorating is encouraged.
- 18. Barn aisles will only be closed to the public when horses are being prepared in the aisles before and during show sessions.
- 19. The first-place showmanship winners in Junior and Senior divisions of each breed will be eligible for showmanship finals.
- 20. If four or less hitches are exhibited in any "Six Horse" class, a premium total of \$2,500 will be divided equally to those hitches who are placed in the books in that class.

Special Awards

The following awards will be given in Divisions 6201, 6202, and 6203: Junior and Senior Champion and Reserve Champion Stallion and Mare, Grand and Reserve Grand Champion Stallion and Mare. Supreme Champion Draft Halter Horse over all Breeds and Best Foal of Show will be chosen from winners in the respective Divisions.

<u>Champion Gelding, Grand Champion Stallion and Grand Champion Mare</u>: A banner will be given by the Illinois State Fair to each of the exhibitors of the Champion Gelding, Grand Champion Stallion and Grand Champion Mare in the Belgian, Clydesdale-Shire and Percheron divisions of the 2025 Illinois State Fair.

<u>Grand Champion Showman</u>: The Grand Champion Junior Showman and Grand Champion Senior Showman of the 2025 Illinois State Fair will be awarded an additional monetary premium award of \$50.

<u>Premiere Exhibitors</u>: A banner will be given by the Illinois State Fair to the Premiere Exhibitor of each of the Belgian, Percheron and Clydesdale-Shire Draft Horse Breeds. Additionally, a banner will be given by the Illinois State Fair to the Premiere Illinois Draft Horse Exhibitor and Premiere Land of Lincoln Draft Horse Exhibitor, chosen from among all three breeds. Premiere awards will be made to the exhibitor of animals winning the most money in halter classes, owned by one exhibitor. In all cases, Get-of- Sire, Produce of Dam and Land of Lincoln classes are not included in the total.

Premiums

Premiums for **Open Classes** will be paid as follows:

Class Description	1 st	2 nd	3 rd	4 th	5 th	6 th	7 th	8 th	9 th	10 th
Draft Breed Classes										
Geldings, Stallions, and Mares *	\$70	\$60	\$40	\$20	\$10	-	-	-	-	-
Groups	\$70	\$60	\$40	\$20	\$10	-	-	-	-	-
Showmanship	\$20	\$15	\$10	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
Draft Horse Classes										
Riding	\$45	\$35	\$25	\$20	\$10	\$10	-	-	-	-
Pleasure Cart	\$50	\$40	\$30	\$20	-	-	-	-	-	-
Farm Team	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25	-	-	-	-	-	-
Costume (Lead line)	\$25	\$25	\$25	\$25	-	-	-	-	-	-
Draft Horse Hitch Classes										
Illinois Owned Team	\$90	\$80	\$60	\$40	\$35	\$30	\$25	\$25	\$20	\$15
Gelding Team	\$90	\$75	\$55	\$35	\$25	\$20	\$15	\$10	\$10	\$10
Mare Team	\$90	\$75	\$55	\$35	\$25	\$20	\$15	\$10	-	-
Jr. Driver	\$55	\$50	\$40	\$30	\$20	\$15	-	-	-	
Cart	\$60	\$50	\$40	\$20	\$15	\$10	-	-	-	-
Illinois Owned Four Hitch	\$200	\$200	\$200	\$200	\$200	\$200	\$200	\$200	-	-
Unicorn Hitch	\$225	\$200	\$175	\$165	\$150	\$125	\$25	-	-	-
Four Hitch	\$500	\$400	\$350	\$300	\$250	\$200	\$125	\$100	-	-
Six Hitch	\$1000	\$750	\$500	\$500	\$500	\$500	\$500	\$500	\$400	\$400
Supreme Six Horse Hitch	\$1000	\$800	\$600	\$600	\$600	\$600	\$600	\$600	\$600	\$525
Junior Cart Classes *										
Jr. Driver, 10-14 years of age	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10
Jr. Driver, 15-18 years of age	\$35	\$30	\$25	\$15	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10
Haflinger/Pony Classes										
Individuals	\$50	\$40	\$30	\$20	\$15	-	-	-	-	-

Cart	\$55	\$45	\$35	\$20	\$15	-	-	-	-	-
Jr. Driver	\$40	\$35	\$30	\$20	\$20	\$15	\$10	-	-	-
Team	\$60	\$50	\$40	\$40	\$30	\$30	-	-	-	-
Unicorn Hitch	\$80	\$50	\$50	\$50	\$40	\$40	-	-	-	-
Four Hitch	\$150	\$100	\$100	\$75	\$50	\$50	-	-	-	-
Six Hitch	\$400	\$350	\$300	\$300	\$200	\$200	-	-	-	-

^{*}Illinois Draft Horse and Mule Association will pay premiums for all Junior Cart Classes and 1-year-old Stallion and Mare Classes in Divisions 6201, 6202, and 6203. They will also award \$10 to each participant in Youth Decorating Classes.

Premiums for Land of Lincoln Classes will be paid as follows:

Class Description	1 st	2 nd	3 rd	4 th
Belgian Breed Classes				
Stallion (3 years and over)	\$30	-	-	-
Stallion (2 years and under 3)	\$30	\$20	-	-
Stallion (1 year and under 2)	\$35	\$25	\$15	\$10
Stallion (under 1 year old)	\$35	\$25	\$15	\$10
Mare (4 years old and over, wet)	\$35	\$15	\$10	\$10
Mare (4 years old and over, dry)	\$30	\$20	\$10	-
Mare (3 years old and under 4)	\$30	\$20	\$10	-
Mare (2 years old and under 3)	\$30	\$20	\$10	-
Mare (1 year old and under 2)	\$35	\$30	\$20	\$10
Mare (under 1 year old)	\$35	\$30	\$20	\$10
Groups	\$35	\$30	\$20	\$10
Percheron and Clydesdale-Shire Breed Classes				
Stallion (3 years and over)	\$30	-	-	-
Stallion (2 years and under 3)	\$30	-	-	-
Stallion (1 year and under 2)	\$35	\$25	-	-
Stallion (under 1 year old)	\$35	\$25	-	-
Mare (4 years old and over, wet)	\$30	\$15	-	-
Mare (4 years old and over, dry)	\$30	\$10	-	-
Mare (3 years old and under 4)	\$30	\$10	-	-
Mare (2 years old and under 3)	\$30	\$10	-	-
Mare (1 year old and under 2)	\$35	\$20	\$5	-
Mare (under 1 year old)	\$35	\$20	\$5	-
Groups	\$35	\$20	\$5	-
Draft Pony Classes				
Mare Halter	\$30	\$20	\$15	-
Gelding/Stallion Halter	\$30	\$20	\$15	-
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

Additional monetary awards will be made to the following Champion in all draft breeds:

Class Description	Open Class	Land of Lincoln
Grand Champion Stallion	\$50	\$35
Reserve Grand Champion Stallion	\$25	-
Grand Champion Mare	\$50	\$35
Reserve Grand Champion Mare	\$25	-

Division 6000 – REQUIRED Draft Horse Animal Information

Senior Showmanship (exhibitors ages 15-18)

This Division is to be used to enter all horses that will be exhibited at the Illinois State Fair. Once the exhibitor has entered all horses, they may then move on to making entries into individual classes found in the other Divisions of the Draft Horse & Pony Show.

Class Description	Open Class	Land of Lincoln Offered *
Draft Horse Animal Information – Enter for each horse to be shown	01	N/A
Division 6001 – Belgians		
Class Description	Open Class	Land of Lincoln Offered *
Geldings		
Gelding (any age)	01	*
Stallions		
Stallion (3 years old and over)	02	*
Stallion (2 years old and under 3)	03	*
Stallion (1 year old and under 2)	04	*
Stallion (under 1 year old)	05	*
Mares		
Mare (4 years old and over, wet)	06	*
Mare (4 years old and over, dry)	07	*
Mare (3 years old and under 4)	08	*
Mare (2 years and under 3)	09	*
Mare (1 year old and under 2)	10	*
Mare (under 1 year old)	11	*
Groups		
Mare and Foal	12	*
Produce of Mare	13	*
Get-of-Sire	14	*
Three Mares	15	N/A
Stallion and Three Mares	16	N/A
Showmanship		
Junior Showmanship (exhibitors ages 9 and under)	17	N/A
Junior Showmanship (exhibitors ages 10-14)	18	N/A

N/A

19

Class Description	Open Class	Land of Lincoln Offered *
Geldings		
Gelding (any age)	01	*
Stallions		
Stallion (3 years old and over)	02	*
Stallion (2 years old and under 3)	03	*
Stallion (1 year old and under 2)	04	*
Stallion (under 1 year old)	05	*
Mares		
Mare (4 years old and over, wet)	06	*
Mare (4 years old and over, dry)	07	*
Mare (3 years old and under 4)	08	*
Mare (2 years and under 3)	09	*
Mare (1 year old and under 2)	10	*
Mare (under 1 year old)	11	*
Groups		
Mare and Foal	12	*
Produce of Mare	13	*
Get-of-Sire	14	*
Three Mares	15	N/A
Stallion and Three Mares	16	N/A
Showmanship		
Junior Showmanship (exhibitors ages 9 and under)	17	N/A
Junior Showmanship (exhibitors ages 10-14)	18	N/A
Senior Showmanship (exhibitors ages 15-18)	19	N/A

Division 6003 – Percherons

(All animals competing must be recorded in the recognized Percheron Records except for geldings.)

Class Description	Open Class	Land of Lincoln Offered *
Geldings		
Gelding, any age	01	*
Stallions		
Stallion (3 years old and over)	02	*
Stallion (2 years old and under 3)	03	*
Stallion (1 year old and under 2)	04	*
Stallion (under 1 year old)	05	*
Mares		
Mare (4 years old and over, wet)	06	*
Mare (4 years old and over, dry)	07	*
Mare (3 years old and under 4)	08	*
Mare (2 years and under 3)	09	*

Mare (1 year old and under 2)	10	*
Mare (under 1 year old)	11	*
Groups		
Mare and Foal	12	*
Produce of Mare	13	*
Get-of-Sire	14	*
Three Mares	15	N/A
Stallion and Three Mares	16	N/A
Showmanship		
Junior Showmanship (exhibitors ages 9 and under)	17	N/A
Junior Showmanship (exhibitors ages 10-14)	18	N/A
Senior Showmanship (exhibitors ages 15-18)	19	N/A

Division 6004 – Draft Horse Hitches

Class Description	Open Class	Land of Lincoln Eligible *
Belgian Cart (lady driver)	01	N/A
Belgian Cart (man driver)	02	N/A
Clydesdale Cart (lady driver)	03	N/A
Clydesdale Cart (man driver)	04	N/A
Percheron Cart (lady driver)	05	N/A
Percheron Cart (man driver)	06	N/A
Draft Mare Cart (lady or man driver)	07	N/A
Junior Cart (Driver 9 years of age and under)	08	N/A
Junior Cart (Driver 10-14 years of age)	09	N/A
Junior Cart (Driver 15-18 years of age)	10	N/A
Gelding Team	11	N/A
Mare Team	12	N/A
Illinois Owned Team	13	N/A
Junior Driver Team (exhibitors ages 10-14)	14	N/A
Junior Driver Team (exhibitors ages 15-18)	15	N/A
Gelding Unicorn Hitch	16	N/A
Mare Unicorn Hitch	17	N/A
Illinois Owned Four Hitch	18	N/A
Open Four Horse Hitch	19	N/A
Mare Four Horse Hitch	20	N/A
Gelding Six Horse Hitch	21	N/A
Mare Six Horse Hitch	22	N/A
Open Supreme Six Horse Hitch	23	N/A

Division 6005 – Draft Horse Miscellaneous

Open Class	Land of Lincoln Eligible *
01	N/A
02	N/A
03	N/A
04	N/A
05	N/A
06	N/A
07	N/A
	01 02 03 04 05 06

Division 6006 – Haflinger/Draft Pony

Class Description	Open	Land of Lincoln Eligible *
Gelding/Stallion (pony halter)	01	*
Gelding/Stallion (Haflinger halter)	02	*
Mare (Haflinger halter)	03	*
Mare (pony halter)	04	*
Cart (lady driver)	05	N/A
Cart (man driver)	06	N/A
Junior Cart driver (18 years and under)	07	N/A
Team	08	N/A
Unicorn Hitch	09	N/A
Four Horse Hitch	10	N/A
Six Horse Hitch #1	11	N/A
Six Horse Hitch #2	12	N/A
Junior Showmanship	13	N/A

END OF DEPARTMENT 60 – DRAFT HORSE AND PONY SHOW